Fall is upon us

Fall is finally upon us and I couldn’t be more excited.  Pumpkin spice lattes (I’ve already enjoyed a few), leaves changing colors and pretty scarves are just a few of my favorite things about fall.  My mother-in-law gave me this elephant scarf (from Gap) and these precious leaf cupcake liners (not sure where they are from)  and only incited the thrill of fall.  Isn’t she sweet?

     

This year, though, fall also means medical school is in full swing.  If he isn’t on campus, I can normally find Jordan at his desk, behind his computer, buried under a pile of notes and books.  And, though I hate to admit it, I too often find myself wandering into his office offering him food, drinks and seeking attention in a not-so-subtle way.  All you other medical school wives, do you do this?  I am still learning that even when Jordan is home, his time doesn’t belong solely to me.  By constantly distracting him, I’m not providing him needed relief, but adding stress later on because I’m taking up his study time.  Getting into a routine is helping, but learning our new normal may take me a while.

On a lighter note, one of the better parts of fall has been the addition of pumpkin to my cooking!  So far I have ventured to make a pumpkin cheesecake, pumpkin spice cream cheese breakfast rolls and pumpkin pancakes (I can’t find the recipe I used, but there are tons out there, but I used box pancake mix and mixed in canned pumpkin among other things).  All of these were delicious and only encouraged my Pinterest habit.  I love sites like Pinterest that allow a baking novice like myself to find user-friendly recipes.  I need step-by-step picture instructions so I know that I’m doing things right….or wrong.

This fall is going to be a new kind of fall, but how refreshing to know that the same God who changes the color of the leaves, who gives us sweet relief from the heat of the summer is sovereign and renews my spirit.

Leave a Reply

